Great day at Supanova Sydney 2013

Posted on June 23, 2013

2


Cleaver Flay 1Spent the day out at Homebush On Saturday (June 22) in Sydney for the Supanova pop culture expo. On the Australian Society of Authors stalls with some ASA alumni – Bruce Mutard and Helen O’Neill among them – and comic book illustrator Peter Fairfax. I had a few copies of Grymm for sale while Peter had his Valentine’s Dei book, which I am reading and enjoying right now!

Amazing day! Some of the work and effort that went into the costumes was astonishing. We had Edward Scissorhands, a very Cleaver Flay-like Jason Voorhees, and a couple of Predators come by the stall, and it was fun trying to guess which show many of the other characters were from. Some of the Japanese anime characters went right over my head but I did spot a few Pokemon, several Spidermen, Batmen, Supermen, Banes, Jokers, Silk Spectres and Black Widows.

Am told the queues for The Hof and Carrie Fisher were almost 90 minutes long! That said, the woman I talked to on the train home (and who bought a copy of Grymm then and there!) had been more than happy to wait. My son Calum has been to Supanova in previous years and had always commented on the number of Slave Leias about the place but I only saw one this year.

Just loved the excitement and the passion and the dedication and the friendliness of everyone there.

Sold 21 books in all, which I was pretty happy with. Can’t be there today (Sunday) but there are copies on the Random House stand if you’re interested.

 

Posted in: Uncategorized