SICK, GORY … AND UP THERE WITH THE BEST

Posted on April 18, 2013

1


From the first part of the review in The Guardian overnight:
“I was blown away. Honestly, I didn’t think, when receiving this book in the mail, that it would be so…wow. I’m sorry, as a reviewer, my descriptive skills are rather poor at the minute; I’m still recoiling from the ending. My adjectives and any power over words, which I possessed, were left in the book when the baby was mauled to (fake) death. Yes, you read that right. It’s a sick, gory book. Sometimes overly dramatic, too shocking, but overall it didn’t fail to impress. I can’t quite place Grymm in any particular genre, apart from (obviously) fiction. It is mostly definitely horror but it also has elements of a mystery, of mythology and adventure. And if it was to be classified as purely young adult’s horror then it is up there with the best of its kind. Keith Austin deserves to take his place, up there with Stephen King and Neil Gaiman.

See the whole thing at http://www.guardian.co.uk/childrens-books-site/2013/apr/18/review-grymm-keith-austin

Posted in: Uncategorized